EHS Theatre Company

Click HERE for Photos
From the Tony Award-winning songwriting team of Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty (Seussical, Ragtime), comes the Olivier Award-winning Once on This Island. This highly original and theatrical Caribbean adaptation of the popular fairy tale, The Little Mermaid, garnered eight Tony nominations for its Broadway run, including Best Musical, Book and Score.
Ti Moune, a peasant girl, rescues a wealthy boy from the other side of the island, Daniel, with whom she falls in love. Unbeknownst to Ti Moune, the pompous gods who preside over the island make a bet with one another over which is stronger, love or death, the stakes being Ti Moune’s life. When she pursues Daniel, who has returned to his people, Ti Moune is shunned because of her lowly status. Her determination and capacity to love, though, is not enough to win Daniel's heart, and Ti Moune pays the ultimate price; but the gods turn Ti Moune into a tree that grows so strong and so tall, it breaks the wall that separates the societies and ultimately unites them.
Once on This Island’s small band, minimal set requirements and flexibly sized cast make it a producer and director's dream. It possesses such a strong, emotional backbone that it can stand tall, from the grandest to most modest of scales.
Ti Moune: Jhalyshka Feliciano.
Agwe: God of Water: Darren Pierre.
Asaka: Mother of Earth: Daicia Eugene.
Erzulie: Goddess of Love: Vanessa Pineda.
Papa Ge: Demon of Death: Marck Hens Jules
Mama Euralie: Maya Jamison Walsh
Tonton Julien: Darnell Hall
Daniel Bouxhomme: Anthony Villatoro
Andrea Deveraux: May Bowman
Little Girl: Raeliyah Previlon
Young Ti Moune/Storyteller: Kathy Santos
Young Daniel/ Storyteller: Phillip Fonseca
Armand/ Storyteller: Christian Vernet
Gatekeeper/ Storyteller: Carl Durham
Storytellers: Adriana Rosentein, Neveah Nelson, Nelffy Gaspard, Nick Pereira, and Gigi Boisvert
Conductor/ Keyboard 1: Steve Black
Keyboard 2/Synth: Eric Dauenhauer
Reeds: Steve Correia
Guitar: Jamie Welch Bass: Ben Silverstein Percission: Joe Cincotta
Stage Manager: Arianna Ventura
Asst.Stage Manager: Shayla Berry
Lighting Design: Bryan De Souza
Sound Design: Darian Ventura and Brandon Orellana
Lead Tech Design: Isabella Mendes
Set Design: Sarah Narkum, Alyssa Hurley, Jessica Lemus, Lakisha Kirnon, Leandra Germain, Loraine Rosario, Erika Morocho, and Hadassa Oliveira, Cody White, and Leonardo Garcia
Costume Design: Abigail Durham, Heidi Orellana Ramos, Mariah Silva, Bella Paradis, and Jenny Le
Properties Design: Isabella Perez
Makeup Design: Ines Aguilar, Renuka Choosri, Brooke Stover, Cleo Murphy, Sofia DeMarco, and Annaya J. Wilson
Artistic Director: Evan DeMarzo
Vocal Director: Carissa Thekaekara
Costumes/ Properties Director: Kaitlin Nardi
Asst. Technical Director: Britt Mitchell. Choreography: Lenny Machado. Artistic/Technical Consultants: Annette LeRay, Casey Cataldo, Eric Pierce, and Bryan Fabbri